Diagonale
Festival of Austrian Film
March 21–26, 2023, Graz

 

COME AND SHOOT IN THALIWOOD

Prämien auf den Tod, Curd Jürgens © Filmarchiv Austria

With the film program COME AND SHOOT IN THALIWOOD, the Festival of Austrian Film extends the exhibition “Film and Cinema in Styria” onto its screens. The exhibition can be viewed from March 11 until January 8, 2023, at the History Museum Graz. The special, conceived by SYNEMA – Gesellschaft für Film und Medien includes three films from Graz’s dream factory Thaliwood, the “film city” built on the grounds of the Thalerhof airport, where the Alpenfilm Austria Association initiated a prosperous studio in British-occupied Styria. At any rate, seventeen major films were shot from 1947 to 1953. As complement, during the Diagonale, Styrian filmmakers have been invited to put together guided tours through the exhibition at the History Museum. The tours will take place on April 8, 9, and 10 at 3 p.m. The tour guides will be announced shortly.

The historical specials RAUSCH and COME AND SHOOT IN THALIWOOD can be seen from April 6 to 10 as part of the Diagonale in Graz and offer the rare occasion to see works, some specially restored, from Austria’s film archives away from the capital.

Film program COME AND SHOOT IN THALIWOOD
Prämien auf den Tod (D: Curd Jürgens, AT 1949)
tracing THALERHOF (D: Lotte Schreiber, AT 2014)
Schuss durchs Fenster (D: Siegfried Breuer, AT 1949)
Die Vier im Jeep (D: Leopold Lindtberg, CH/AT 1951)

After 1945, the British Film Section of the Psychological Warfare Branch in Styria controlled the distribution of foreign productions and approved “tainted” German films for screening only on the condition that all scenes referring to national socialism were removed. In Graz, with the “film city” on the grounds of the Thalerhof airport, a flourishing studio emerged, affectionally dubbed “Thaliwood.” After all, seventeen major films were shot between 1947 and 1953 on the initiative of the Alpenfilm Austria Association.

At the Diagonale’22, the murder mystery Prämien auf den Tod (AT 1949) – Curd Jürgens’s directing debut with the leading actor Siegfried Breuer – will be shown together with the short film collage tracing THALERHOF (AT 2014) by Lotte Schreiber. Added to that is Siegfried Breuer’s strange film noir Schuss durchs Fenster (AT 1949), a sibling film to Prämien auf den Tod, as it were, in which the two stars Curd Jürgens and Siegfried Breuer have switched places in front of and behind the camera. The program will be supplemented with Die Vier im Jeep (CH/AT 1951) by Leopold Lindtberg, which was screened in the competition in Cannes and honored with the Golden Bear at the Berlinale. After the realization of seventeen major films, operations ceased at the Thalerhof studio in 1945, for mainly financial reasons. Film torn. Blackout.

Diagonale
Festival des österreichischen Films
21.–26. März 2023, Graz

 

COME AND SHOOT IN THALIWOOD

Prämien auf den Tod, Curd Jürgens © Filmarchiv Austria

Mit dem Filmprogramm COME AND SHOOT IN THALIWOOD verlängert das Festival des österreichischen Film die Ausstellung „Film und Kino in der Steiermark“, die von 10. März bis 8. Jänner 2023 im Museum für Geschichte zu sehen ist, auf ihre Leinwände: Das von SYNEMA – Gesellschaft für Film und Medien verantwortete Special versammelt drei Filme aus der Grazer Traumfabrik Thaliwood, jener „Filmstadt“ auf dem Gelände des Flughafens Thalerhof, mit der die Alpenfilm-Austria-Gesellschaft in der britisch besetzten Steiermark einst ein prosperierendes Studio initiierte, in dem zwischen 1947 bis 1953 immerhin 17 Filme gedreht wurden. Ergänzend dazu werden steirische Filmschaffende eingeladen, während der Diagonale Führungen durch die Ausstellung gemeinsam mit den Kurator*innen Maria Froihofer und Karl Wratschko im Museum für Geschichte zu gestalten. Sie finden am 8., 9. und 10. April jeweils um 15 Uhr statt. Mit: David Lapuch, Pia Hierzegger, Brigitte Mayr und Michael Omasta (SYNEMA). Mehr zur Anmeldung hier.

Die historischen Specials RAUSCH und COME AND SHOOT IN THALIWOOD sind zwischen 6. und 10. April anlässlich der 25. Diagonale in Graz zu sehen und bieten die rare Gelegenheit, teils eigens digitalisierte und restaurierte Arbeiten aus den heimischen Filmarchiven fernab der Hauptstadt zu sehen.

Filmprogramm SYNEMA: COME AND SHOOT IN THALIWOOD. Drei Filme aus der Grazer Traumfabrik
Prämien auf den Tod (R: Curd Jürgens, AT 1949)
tracing THALERHOF (R: Lotte Schreiber, AT 2014)
Schuss durch’s Fenster (R: Siegfried Breuer, AT 1949)
Die Vier im Jeep (R: Leopold Lindtberg, CH/AT 1951)

Nach 1945 kontrolliert die britische Film Section der Psychological Warfare Branch in der Steiermark den Verleih ausländischer Produktionen und gibt „belastete“ deutsche Filme nur dann zur Vorführung frei, wenn alle Szenen mit Bezug zum Nationalsozialismus entfernt sind. In Graz entsteht mit der „Filmstadt“ auf dem Gelände des Flughafens Thalerhof ein prosperierendes Studio, das den liebevollen Beinamen „Thaliwood“ trägt. Auf Initiative der Alpenfilm-Austria-Gesellschaft werden hier von 1947 bis 1953 immerhin 17 größere Filme gedreht.

Bei der Diagonale’22 wird der Kriminalfilm Prämien auf den Tod (AT 1949) – Curd Jürgens’ Regiedebüt mit dem Hauptdarsteller Siegfried Breuer – gemeinsam mit der Kurzfilmcollage tracing THALERHOF (AT 2014) von Lotte Schreiber gezeigt. Hinzu kommt Siegfried Breuers komischer Film noir Schuss durch’s Fenster (AT 1949), sozusagen ein Geschwisterfilm von Prämien auf den Tod, bei dem die beiden Stars Curd Jürgens und Siegfried Breuer die Plätze vor und hinter der Kamera getauscht haben. Komplettiert wird das Programm durch den im Wettbewerb von Cannes aufgeführten und mit dem Goldenen Bären der Berlinale ausgezeichneten Die Vier im Jeep (CH/AT 1951) von Leopold Lindtberg. Nach der Realisierung von 17 größeren Filmen wurde der Betrieb der Thalerhofstudios 1953 aus mehrheitlich finanziellen Gründen eingestellt. Der Film war gerissen.