Diagonale
Festival of Austrian Film
March 21–26, 2023, Graz

The Spotlight on series is presented by Ö1.

The Diagonale would like to thank the project sponsor Gaulhofer.

Spotlight on: Tizza Covi and Rainer Frimmel

Spotlight on: Tizza Covi and Rainer Frimmel © Diagonale/Anna Stöcher

The Spotlight on series reflects on Austrian film and cinema culture by tracing the biography of acclaimed Austrian filmmakers. This year’s film program, from April 6 to 10, 2022, is devoted to the internationally acclaimed duo Tizza Covi and Rainer Frimmel, who most recently received, among other awards, the Grand Diagonale Prize Documentary Film for Aufzeichnungen aus der Unterwelt, thus being honored for the fourth time in a main category of the festival. For Peter Schernhuber and Sebastian Höglinger, directors of the Diagonale, the realization of the film show is a labor of love, for which they were able to find an ideal partner in Camera Austria, which, parallel to and in co-production with the Diagonale’22, will be showing an extensive photo exhibition on Covi and Frimmel from March 18 to May 22. The joint program marks the first comprehensive retrospective of an oeuvre that spans fictional and documentary works in artistic photography and author cinema.

Reinhard Braun, artistic director of Camera Austria, recognizes a cooperative quality in both: “It might be about opening the images, both the cinematic as well as photographic ones, despite their cautious precision and the exactitude of their montage – or precisely due to that – to make them a ‘terrain’ of a shared interest, a shared project, a shared resistance, and a mutually experienced foreignness, that means, turn them into a cooperative narrative, which is not always based on an unambiguous authorship and which in this way distributes the power that emanates from the representation differently.”

The film program will be screened from April 6 to 10 in the context of the 25th Diagonale in Graz and will be accompanied by in-depth talks with film journalist Bert Rebhandl.

Film list Spotlight on: Tizza Covi and Rainer Frimmel

Aufzeichnungen aus dem Tiefparterre (D: Rainer Frimmel, AT 1993–2000)
Das ist alles (D: Tizza Covi, Rainer Frimmel, AT 2001)
Babooska (D: Tizza Covi, Rainer Frimmel, AT/IT 2005)
La Pivellina (D: Tizza Covi, Rainer Frimmel, AT/IT 2009)
Der Glanz des Tages (D: Tizza Covi, Rainer Frimmel, AT 2012)
Mister Universo (D: Tizza Covi, Rainer Frimmel, AT/IT 2016)
Aufzeichnungen aus der Unterwelt (D: Tizza Covi, Rainer Frimmel, AT 2020)

Babooska © Vento Film

The extraordinary in the ordinary

Viennese directing duo Tizza Covi’s and Rainer Frimmel’s multiple award-winning works, screened at festivals throughout the world, are among the most interesting and sensuous of recent Austrian film history. At once both social realistic and poetic, the films are compelling, not least due to a tender devotion to their protagonists.

The starting note of the Spotlight on series is Rainer Frimmel’s documentary debut Aufzeichnungen aus dem Tiefparterre, or “recordings from the basement”, created between 1993 and 2000 – the montage of a self-documentation by the Viennese truck driver Peter Haindl in video images, a monologue full of abysses and a pandemonium of the Austrian soul.

The first joint film by the directing duo Das ist alles (AT 2001) documents the everyday life of ethnic German, Russian, and Armenian inhabitants in a village near Kaliningrad, where the settlement policies after World War II gave rise to a multinational village structure. The film celebrated its premier at the festival of Nyon where it was honored with the young talent award, Regards Neufs.

Das ist alles © Vento Film

In 2002, Tizza Covi and Rainer founded the film production firm Vento Film in order to produce their films independently. They thereupon realized their second joint documentary film Babooska (AT/IT 2005). The directors spent a year on the road in Italy with the eponymous artiste and her travelling circus. What arose is a melancholic, humorous road movie about modern nomadic life. During the research for Babooska, Covi and Frimmel met their protagonist Tairo, to whom they devoted the film Mister Universo (AT/IT 2016). Babooska premiered at the Berlinale 2006 in the International Forum of New Cinema and was awarded the prize for the best debut film. At the Diagonale 2006, Babooska was honored with the Grand Diagonale Prize for the best Austrian documentary for its “subtle observation” and “precise-atmospheric visual design” (jury statement).

Already in 2010, the directing duo’s next film screened in the Diagonale competition: La Pivellina (AT/IT 2009), their first feature film. With its documentary approach, the film, which is once again located in the milieu of the circus and developed on the original sites with the people who live there, creates an “immediate closeness to its characters” (jury statement) and was honored with the Grand Diagonale Prize Best Feature Film. La Pivellina, which had its world premiere in 2009 at the Quinzaine in Cannes, was additionally awarded the Europa Cinemas Label and was Austria’s official contribution to the Oscars 2011. It was the first Austrian film to open the Viennale in 2009.

In their next feature film, the directing duo again created a film from the lived environment of its actors. In Der Glanz des Tages (AT 2012), which premiered at the Locarno Film Festival and was awarded the Max Ophüls Prize, the Austrian actor Philipp Hochmair meets the showman Walter Saabel – the rest is improvisation. The film “moves without manipulating, sends one off on a journey with an uncertain end, and with humor inspires political action,” as the jury stated, which honored the filmmakers with the Grand Diagonale Prize – for the third time (!), this time for the best Austrian Feature Film.

Mister Universo © Vento Film

With their next feature film, Mister Universo (AT/IT 2016), Covi and Frimmel again submerge in the circus milieu and follow the story of the lion tamer Tairo in his search for lost luck. The film celebrated its premiere in the international competition in Locarno where it won several awards. At the Diagonale’17, Covi and Frimmel won the Thomas Pluch Screenwriting Prize (special prize by the jury) for their screenplay with its “fragile protagonists” who “touch us with their oppressive awkwardness” (jury statement).

Most recently, the directing duo investigated Vienna’s underground milieu of the 1960s in the documentary Aufzeichnungen aus der Unterwelt (AT 2020), which celebrated its world premiere at the Berlinale 2020 – a “declaration of love”, a “masterpiece”, as the Falter stated. A film “that makes tangible lives that perhaps didn’t exactly occur as such”, as the jury of the Diagonale’20 remarked upon awarding the Grand Diagonale Prize Documentary Film. The meanwhile fourth award in a main category of the Diagonale marks a further highlight in the careers of Tizza Covi and Rainer Frimmel.

Tizza Covi and Rainer Frimmel, Untitled, from the series: Village festival in Jasnaja Poljana, 1998. © Tizza Covi and Rainer Frimmel

Less well known is Covi’s and Frimmel’s photographic oeuvre, which should not be seen as mere preliminary studies for their films, but instead pursue independent ways of observing and artistic concepts. The joint program by the Diagonale and Camera Austria marks the first comprehensive showing of works by Tizza Covi and Rainer Frimmel. The photo exhibition can be seen from March 18 to May 22, 2022 at Camera Austria. The film program will be shown in the context of the Diagonale’22 from April 6 to 10 and will be accompanied by in-depth film talks.

Rainer Frimmel (Vienna) and Tizza Covi (Bolzano) were both born in 1971. They attended the college for photography at the federal training and research institute for graphic arts and media (die Graphische) in Vienna from 1992 to 1994. While Frimmel went on to take an additional course for camera assistance in 1995, Covi worked as a freelance photographer in Rome until 1998. They have worked together on projects in the areas of photography, theater, and film since 1996.

Diagonale
Festival des österreichischen Films
21.–26. März 2023, Graz

Die Reihe Zur Person wird von Ö1 präsentiert.

Die Diagonale dankt dem Projektsponsor Gaulhofer – Fenster zum Wohnfühlen.

Zur Person: Tizza Covi und Rainer Frimmel

Zur Person: Rainer Frimmel und Tizza Covi © Diagonale/Anna Stöcher

Entlang der Biografie verdienter heimischer Filmschaffender denkt die Reihe Zur Person über österreichische Film- und Kinokultur nach. 2022 widmet sich das Filmprogramm vom 6. bis 10. April dem international preisgekrönten Duo Tizza Covi und Rainer Frimmel, das für Aufzeichnungen aus der Unterwelt zuletzt unter anderem mit dem Großen Diagonale-Preis Dokumentarfilm und damit zum insgesamt vierten Mal in einer Hauptkategorie des Festivals ausgezeichnet wurde. Für Peter Schernhuber und Sebastian Höglinger, Festivalintendanz der Diagonale, ist das Zustandekommen der Filmschau eine Herzensangelegenheit, für die mit der Camera Austria eine ideale Partnerin gefunden werden konnte: Parallel zur und in Koproduktion mit der Diagonale’22 zeigt diese vom 18. März bis 22. Mai eine umfangreiche Fotoausstellung zu Covi und Frimmel – „Über die Ränder“. Das gemeinsame Programm markiert die erste umfassendere Werkschau eines Œuvres, das sich zwischen künstlerischer Fotografie und Autor*innenkino aus fiktionalen und dokumentarischen Arbeiten aufspannt.

In beidem erkennt Reinhard Braun, künstlerischer Leiter der Camera Austria, eine kooperative Qualität: „Es könnte [dabei] darum gehen, die Bilder – filmische wie fotografische – trotz ihrer behutsamen Präzision und der Genauigkeit ihrer Montage – oder gerade dadurch – zu öffnen, zum ‚Terrain‘ eines gemeinsamen Interesses, eines gemeinsamen Projektes, einer gemeinsamen Widerständigkeit und einer gemeinsam erlebten Fremdheit zu machen, das heißt zu einer kooperativen Erzählung, der nicht immer eine eindeutige Autor*innenschaft zu Grunde liegt und die in dieser Weise die Macht, die von der Repräsentation ausgeht, anders verteilt.“

Das Filmprogramm wird vom 6. bis 10. April im Rahmen der 25. Diagonale in Graz zur Aufführung gebracht und von vertiefenden Gesprächen (Diagonale im Dialog) mit Filmjournalist Bert Rebhandl gerahmt.

Filmliste Zur Person: Tizza Covi und Rainer Frimmel

Aufzeichnungen aus dem Tiefparterre (R: Rainer Frimmel, AT 1993–2000)
Das ist alles (R: Tizza Covi, Rainer Frimmel, AT 2001)
Babooska (R: Tizza Covi, Rainer Frimmel, AT/IT 2005)
La Pivellina (R: Tizza Covi, Rainer Frimmel, AT/IT 2009)
Der Glanz des Tages (R: Tizza Covi, Rainer Frimmel, AT 2012)
Mister Universo (R: Tizza Covi, Rainer Frimmel, AT/IT 2016)
Aufzeichnungen aus der Unterwelt (R: Tizza Covi, Rainer Frimmel, AT 2020)

Babooska © Vento Film

Das Außergewöhnliche im Alltäglichen

Die vielfach ausgezeichneten und auf internationalen Festivals vorgestellten Arbeiten des Wiener Regieduos Tizza Covi und Rainer Frimmel gehören zu den interessantesten und sinnlichsten der jüngeren österreichischen Filmgeschichte. Sozialrealistisch und poetisch zugleich, faszinieren sie nicht zuletzt durch ihre feinfühlige Zuneigung zu ihren Protagonist*innen.

Den Auftakt der Reihe Zur Person bildet Rainer Frimmels zwischen 1993 und 2000 entstandenes Dokumentarfilmdebüt Aufzeichnungen aus dem Tiefparterre – die Montage einer Selbstdokumentation des Wiener LKW-Fahrers Peter Haindl in Videobildern, ein Monolog voller Abgründe und ein Pandämonium der österreichischen Seele.

Die erste gemeinsame Filmarbeit des Regieduos Das ist alles (AT 2001) dokumentiert den Alltag der deutschstämmigen, russischen und armenischen Bewohner*innen in einem Dorf nahe Kaliningrad, wo durch die Umsiedelungspolitik nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg eine multinationale Dorfstruktur entstanden ist. Der Film feierte seine Premiere beim Festival von Nyon und wurde dort mit dem Nachwuchspreis Regards Neufs ausgezeichnet.

Das ist alles © Vento Film

2002 gründeten Tizza Covi und Rainer Frimmel die Filmproduktionsfirma Vento Film, um ihre Filme unabhängig zu produzieren. Daraufhin realisierten sie den zweiten gemeinsamen Dokumentarfilm Babooska (AT/IT 2005). Ein Jahr lang reisten die Regisseur*innen mit der gleichnamigen Artistin und deren Wanderzirkus durch Italien. Entstanden ist ein melancholisch-humorvolles Roadmovie über modernes Nomadentum. Bei der Recherche zu Babooska lernten Covi und Frimmel ihren späteren Protagonisten Tairo kennen, dem sie den Film Mister Universo (AT/IT 2016) widmeten. Babooska feierte auf der Berlinale 2006 im Internationalen Forum des jungen Films seine Premiere und erhielt den Preis für den besten Debütfilm. Bei der Diagonale 2006 wurde Babooska für die „subtile Beobachtung“ und „präzis-atmosphärische Bildgestaltung“ (Jurybegründung) als bester österreichischer Dokumentarfilm mit dem Großen Diagonale-Preis ausgezeichnet.

Bereits 2010 lief der nächste Film des Regieduos im Wettbewerb der Diagonale: La Pivellina (AT/IT 2009), ihr erster Spielfilm. Der erneut im Zirkusmilieu angesiedelte und an Originalschauplätzen mit den dortigen Bewohner*innen entwickelte Film schafft mit seiner dokumentarischen Herangehensweise eine „unmittelbare Nähe zu seinen Figuren“ (Jurybegründung) und wurde mit dem Großen Diagonale-Preis Spielfilm ausgezeichnet. Der 2009 bei der Quinzaine in Cannes uraufgeführte Film wurde außerdem mit dem Europa Cinemas Label prämiert und war Österreichs offizieller Beitrag für die Oscars 2011. Zudem eröffnete er 2009 als erster österreichischer Film die Viennale.

Auch im darauffolgenden Spielfilm schuf das Regieduo einen Film aus dem gelebten Leben seiner Darsteller*innen. Im beim Locarno Film Festival uraufgeführten und mit dem Max-Ophüls-Preis ausgezeichneten Spielfilm Der Glanz des Tages (AT 2012) trifft der österreichische Schauspieler Philipp Hochmair den Schausteller Walter Saabel – der Rest ist Improvisation. Der Film „bewegt, ohne zu manipulieren, schickt einen auf eine Reise mit ungewissem Ausgang und inspiriert mit Witz zu politischem Handeln“, wie die Jury konstatierte, die die Filmemacher*innen – zum dritten Mal (!) – mit dem Großen Diagonale-Preis, diesmal für den besten österreichischen Spielfilm, auszeichnete.

Mister Universo © Vento Film

Mit ihrem nächsten Spielfilm Mister Universo (AT/IT 2016) tauchen Covi und Frimmel wieder ins Zirkusmilieu ein und folgen der Geschichte des Dompteurs Tairo auf seiner Suche nach dem entschwundenen Glück. Der Film feierte 2016 im internationalen Wettbewerb von Locarno Premiere und wurde dort mehrfach ausgezeichnet. Bei der Diagonale’17 bekamen Covi und Frimmel für das Drehbuch mit seinen „zerbrechlichen Protagonisten und Protagonistinnen“ die „in ihrer beklemmenden Unbeholfenheit berühren“ (Jurybegründung) den Thomas Pluch Spezialpreis der Jury.

Zuletzt erkundete das Regieduo mit dem Dokumentarfilm Aufzeichnungen aus der Unterwelt (AT 2020), der seine Uraufführung bei der Berlinale 2020 feierte, das Strizzimilieu im Wien der 1960er-Jahre – eine „Liebeserklärung“, ein „Meisterwerk“, wie der Falter konstatierte. Ein Film, „der Leben erfahrbar macht, die so vielleicht gar nicht stattgefunden haben“, wie die Jury der Diagonale’20 bei der Verleihung des Großen Diagonale-Preis Dokumentarfilm bemerkte. Die bereits vierte Auszeichnung in einer Hauptkategorie der Diagonale markiert einen weiteren Höhepunkt in der Karriere Tizza Covis und Rainer Frimmels.

o.T., aus der Serie: Dorffest in Jasnaja Poljana, 1998. © Tizza Covi und Rainer Frimmel

Weniger bekannt ist das fotografische Œuvre von Covi und Frimmel, das nicht nur als Vorstudie zu ihren Filmen gesehen werden muss, sondern eigenständigen Betrachtungsweisen und künstlerischen Konzepten folgt. Das gemeinsame Programm von Diagonale und Camera Austria markiert die erste umfassendere Werkschau zu Tizza Covi und Rainer Frimmel. Die Fotoausstellung „Über die Ränder“ wird am 18. März um 18 Uhr eröffnet und ist bis 22. Mai 2022 in der Camera Austria zu sehen. Ein Gespräch mit den Künstler*innen findet am 9. April 2022 um 13 Uhr ebendort statt. Das Filmprogramm wird im Rahmen der Diagonale’22 vom 6. bis 10. April zur Aufführung gebracht und von vertiefenden Filmgesprächen gerahmt.

Rainer Frimmel (Wien) und Tizza Covi (Bozen) wurden 1971 geboren. Von 1992 bis 1994 besuchten beide das Kolleg für Fotografie an der Graphischen Lehranstalt in Wien. Während Frimmel 1995 einen Lehrgang für Kameraassistenz anhängte, arbeitete Covi bis 1998 als freie Fotografin in Rom. Seit 1996 arbeiten sie zusammen an Projekten in den Bereichen Fotografie, Theater und Film.