Diagonale
Diagonale
Diagonale

| Position | Lisl Ponger |

Diagonale 2024 announces a retrospective of filmmaker Lisl Ponger (b. 1947) as well as a Carte Blanche which she will compile.

 

Lisl Ponger vor Bücherregal

Lisl Ponger her studio in October ’23 © Diagonale / Elsa Okazaki

Ponger’s works embrace the world while at the same time taking into account the limits of the medium. With her montage she playfully uncovers culturally established ways of seeing and layers of meaning in images. Ponger questions the power of illusion in film, thereby arriving at an aesthetic that cannot be separated from a critique of ideology: exoticism, historiography, tourism, and migration are recurring themes. Even in early, formalistic Super 8 works (Film – An Exercise In Illusion I and II, 1980/1983), Ponger activates curiosity with visual puzzles. Passages (1996), déjà-vu (1999) and Phantom Foreign Vienna (1991 – 2004) as well as Imago Mundi are films in which Ponger pursues her anthropological desire for the “strange and beautiful” with postcolonial sensitivity. She dissects the order of images and assembles their parts into an independent universe. We are also delighted to present three of Pongers‘s new works (La vida es un carnaval, To Whom It May Concern and Unless You Are A Trickster).

With 19 films in three programs, the Festival of Austrian Film is dedicating a comprehensive retrospective to the artist Lisl Ponger.

Program 1

To Whom it May Concern (2022, 7 min) | Imago Mundi (2007, 37 min) | Unless you are a trickster (2023, 7 min) | Space Equals Time – Far Freaking Out (1979, 10 min) | La vida es un carnaval (2023, 8 min) | Film – An Exercise in Illusion I (1980, 3 min)

Program 2

Container – Contained (1985, 5 min) | The Sound of Space (1986, 9 min) | Passagen (1996, 12 min) | Souvenirs (1982, 12 min) | Semiotic Ghosts (1991, 15 min) | The Four Corners of the World(1981, 15 min)

Program 3

Die Filmwelt tanzt, leise  Pinguin Bar, Kapfenberg (1981, 5 min) | Lichtblitze (1981, 5 min) | Tendencies to Exist (1984, 17 min) | déjà-vu (1999, 23 min) | Panorama (1998, 2 min) | Phantom Fremdes Wien (2004, 27 min) | If the Lumière Brothers … (Mozart Minute 01) (2006, 1 min)

Consent Management Platform by Real Cookie Banner

Diagonale
Diagonale
Diagonale

| Position | Lisl Ponger |

Die Diagonale 2024 widmet dem Werk der 1947 geborenen Filmemacherin und Fotografin Lisl Ponger eine Retrospektive, zudem erhält sie eine Carte Blanche für ein Filmprogramm.

 

Lisl Ponger vor Bücherregal

Lisl Ponger in ihrem Atelier im Oktober ’23 © Diagonale / Elsa Okazaki

Pongers Arbeiten sind auf die Welt ausgerichtet und bedenken zugleich die Begrenzungen des Mediums mit. Spielerisch legt ihre Montage kulturell tradierte Blickweisen und Bedeutungsschichten von Bildern frei. Von der Befragung der Illusionskraft des Films gelangt Ponger zu einer Ästhetik, die sich nicht von Ideologiekritik trennen lässt: Exotismen, Geschichtsschreibung, Tourismus und Migration sind wiederkehrende Themen. Schon in frühen, formalistischen Super-8-Arbeiten (Film – An Exercise In Illusion I und II, 1980/1983) aktiviert Ponger die Neugierde mit Bilderrätseln. Passagen (1996), déjà-vu (1999) und Phantom Fremdes Wien (1991 – 2004) sowie Imago Mundi sind Filme, in denen Ponger ihre anthropologische Lust am „Fremden und Schönen“ mit postkolonialer Sensibilität nachkommt. Sie zerlegt die Ordnung der Bilder und kombiniert deren Teile zu einer eigenständigen Welt. Es freut uns überdies, drei neue Arbeiten (La Vida Es Un Carnaval, To Whom It May Concern und Unless You Are A Trickster) präsentieren zu können.

Mit 19 Filmen in drei Programmen widmet das Festival des österreichischen Films der Künstlerin Lisl Ponger eine umfassende Werkschau.

Programm 1

Container – Contained (1985, 5 min) | The Sound of Space (1986, 9 min) | Passagen (1996, 12 min) | Souvenirs (1982, 12 min) | Semiotic Ghosts (1991, 15 min) | The Four Corners of the World (1981, 15 min)

Programm 2

To Whom it May Concern (2022, 7 min) | Imago Mundi (2007, 37 min) | Unless you are a trickster (2023, 7 min) | Space Equals Time – Far Freaking Out (1979, 10 min) | La Vida Es Un Carnaval (2023, 8 min) | Film – An Exercise in Illusion I (1980, 3 min)

Programm 3

Die Filmwelt tanzt, leise  Pinguin Bar, Kapfenberg (1981, 5 min) | Lichtblitze (1981, 5 min) | Tendencies to Exist (1984, 17 min) | déjà-vu (1999, 23 min) | Panorama (1998, 2 min) | Phantom Fremdes Wien (2004, 27 min) | If the Lumière Brothers … (Mozart Minute 01) (2006, 1 min)

 

Consent Management Platform von Real Cookie Banner