Diagonale
Festival of Austrian Film
March 21–26, 2023, Graz

The Diagonale would like to thank the project sponsor Gaulhofer – Fenster zum Wohnfühlen.

Spotlight on: Goran Rebić

Goran Rebić © Diagonale/Elsa Okazaki

The Diagonale is extraordinarily pleased to dedicate its program series Spotlight on to Goran Rebić in 2023. The Spotlight on (Zur Person) series contemplates Austrian film and cinema culture by tracing the biography of acclaimed Austrian filmmakers. In 2023, the program format is dedicated to Goran Rebić, a filmmaker and screenwriter who has at times also appeared as an actor. The film program Spotlight on: Goran Rebić will be presented from March 22 to 26, 2023, in Graz in the framework of the Diagonale and accompanied by in-depth talks, the workshop talk “Ich bin Geschichte – Filmen zwischen den Zeiten“ as well as a Listening Session.

Rebić’s works are memorabilia that keep memories alive with a view to the future. His short films, documentaries, and feature films tell of work migration to Vienna, the independence and civil war in Georgia, the collapse of Yugoslavia, and the Danube as Europe’s lifeline. Rebić’s oeuvre thereby focuses mainly on the cesuras, fallings-out, and social transformations of the 1990s and makes visible – especially in an overview of the films – European cultural history with a global dimension. Despite this distinct focus, he is also always interested in contemporary (pop) cultural phenomena: History meets Madonna and Idoli, culture meets identity.

During the Many Years, Goran Rebić © sixpackfilm

Film list Spotlight on: Goran Rebić

The Punishment (D: Goran Rebić, AT 2000)
Jugofilm (D: Goran Rebić, AT 1997)
Gekommen bin ich der Arbeit wegen (D: Goran Rebić, AT 1987)
Domovina (D: Goran Rebić, AT 1990)
During the Many Years (D: Goran Rebić, AT 1991)
Am Rande der Welt (D: Goran Rebić, AT 1992)
Donau, Duna, Dunaj, Dunav, Dunarea (D: Goran Rebić, AT 2003)
— In Reference: Le Thé au harem d’Archimède (D: Mehdi Charef, FR 1985)

Jugofilm, Goran Rebić © Lotus Film

In Rebić’s first film, Gekommen bin ich der Arbeit wegen (AT 1987), he accompanies his father to the sites where he looks for work and presents one of the first Austrian guest-worker films. This is followed by two essayistic documentaries on Georgia’s independence (During the Many Years, AT 1991) and its civil war (Am Rande der Welt, AT 1992). In 1997, he made the deeply emotional, tragicomedy feature film Jugofilm (Thomas Pluch Screenwriting Prize (Special Prize of the Jury) at the Diagonale’98), in which Ljubiša Samardžić, a favorite among Yugoslavian audiences, played alongside then-contemporary Austrian stars such as Wolf Bachofner and Eva Mattes. The film depicts the Yugoslavian war from the perspective of the Viennese diaspora. One year later, Rebić appeared as an actor in Florian Flicker’s feature film Suzie Washington (AT 1998). Rebić had a long-term work friendship with Flicker – as he did with Michael Glawogger. For The Punishment (AT 2000), which gives a voice to protagonists of a lost generation in cosmopolitan Belgrade, Goran Rebić was awarded the Grand Diagonale Prize in 2000. When viewing the documentary, one is inevitably reminded of our present – political comparisons, as Rebić admonishes, that are useful only when employed precisely and with historical awareness.

Donau, Duna, Dunaj, Dunav, Dunarea, Goran Rebić © Lotus Film

The Spotlight on program will also screen the short documentary Domovina (AT 1990). Based on a Serbian folk song from the era of the Balkan wars from 1912 to 1914, the film tells of immigrants who are haunted by the hymns of their homelands: “A musical winter journey to the Serbian-Romanian border when unexpectedly everything began to change there”, as the former Diagonale festival director and now producer Constantin Wulff once remarked. In 2003, the year that Graz became European Cultural Capital, Rebić was once again occupied with one of his main themes: the Danube area, in his road movie on water Donau, Duna, Dunaj, Dunav, Dunarea (AT 2003). The fairy-tale like feature film with Robert Stadlober, Ioana Flora, Susanne Wuest, and Otto Sander will go ashore at the festival on the Mur once again on the occasion of the Diagonale’23 after 2004.

Domovina, Goran Rebić © sixpackfilm

Furthermore, with reference to his oeuvre, Rebić will show Le Thé au harem d’Archimède (FR 1985), honored in Cannes in 1985 and later also with the César as the best first feature film, for which the factory worker Mehdi Charef adapted his own novel about the Arabic youth milieu in Paris’s banlieues. With a glance at his own portfolio, in the workshop talk “Ich bin Geschichte – Filmen zwischen den Zeiten”, Goran Rebić will shed light on the (non-)feasibility of some of his cinematic projects in Austria. Additionally, focus will be on his personal musical socialization and the interplay of emotions, image, and sound in a Listening Session within the framework of the festival. A comprehensive essay by Otto Reiter on the Spotlight on: Goran Rebić series will be published in the Diagonale’23 catalogue (Czernin Verlag).

Goran Rebić was born in 1968, in Vršac in Vojvodina in former Yugoslavia. In 1969, he immigrated to Vienna with his parents, where he later studied directing at the University of Music and Performing Arts (Vienna Film Academy).

Diagonale
Festival des österreichischen Films
21.–26. März 2023, Graz

Die Diagonale dankt dem Projektsponsor Gaulhofer – Fenster zum Wohnfühlen.

Mit Unterstützung des Zukunftsfonds der Republik Österreich

Zur Person: Goran Rebić

Goran Rebić © Diagonale/Elsa Okazaki

Die Diagonale freut sich außerordentlich, Goran Rebić 2023 die Programmreihe Zur Person widmen zu dürfen. Entlang der Biografie verdienter heimischer Filmschaffender denkt die Reihe über österreichische Film- und Kinokultur nach. 2023 widmet sich das Programmformat dem 1968 geborenen Filmemacher und Drehbuchautor Goran Rebić, der zeitweilig auch als Schauspieler und Cutter in Erscheinung trat. Das Filmprogramm Zur Person: Goran Rebić wird vom 22. bis 26. März 2023 im Rahmen der Diagonale in Graz zur Aufführung gebracht und von vertiefenden Gesprächen (Diagonale im Dialog), dem Werkstattgespräch „Ich bin Geschichte – Filmen zwischen den Zeiten“ sowie einer Listening Session gerahmt.

Rebićs Arbeiten sind Memorabilien, die Erinnerungen mit Blick auf die Zukunft wachhalten. So erzählen die Kurz-, Dokumentar- und Spielfilme von der Arbeitsmigration nach Wien, von der Unabhängigkeit und dem Bürgerkrieg in Georgien, von den Zerfallsprozessen Jugoslawiens oder von der Donau als europäische Lebensader. Dabei fokussiert das Œuvre Rebićs zumeist auf die Zäsuren, Zerwürfnisse und gesellschaftlichen Veränderungen der 1990er-Jahre und macht – besonders in der Zusammenschau der Filme – europäische (Kultur-)Geschichte mit globaler Dimension anschaulich. Trotz seines ausgeprägten Interesses an dieser ist Goran Rebić stets auch an gegenwärtigen (pop-)kulturellen Phänomenen interessiert: Geschichte trifft Madonna und Idoli, Kultur trifft Identität.

During the Many Years, Goran Rebić © sixpackfilm

Filmliste Zur Person: Goran Rebić

The Punishment (R: Goran Rebić, AT 2000)
Jugofilm (R: Goran Rebić, AT 1997)
Gekommen bin ich der Arbeit wegen (R: Goran Rebić, AT 1987)
Domovina (R: Goran Rebić, AT 1990)
During the Many Years (R: Goran Rebić, AT 1991)
Am Rande der Welt (R: Goran Rebić, AT 1992)
Donau, Duna, Dunaj, Dunav, Dunarea (R: Goran Rebić, AT 2003)
— In Referenz: Le Thé au harem d’Archimède (R: Mehdi Charef, FR 1985)

Jugofilm, Goran Rebić © Lotus Film

In seinem ersten Film, Gekommen bin ich der Arbeit wegen (AT 1987), begleitet Goran Rebić seinen Vater an dessen Orte der Arbeitssuche und legt einen der ersten österreichischen Gastarbeiterfilme vor. Es folgen zwei essayistische Dokumentarfilme zu Georgiens Unabhängigkeit (During the Many Years, AT 1991) sowie dem dortigen Bürgerkrieg (Am Rande der Welt, AT 1992). 1997 entsteht der tief emotionale, tragisch-komische Spielfilm Jugofilm (Thomas Pluch Spezialpreis der Jury bei der Diagonale’98), in dem der jugoslawische Publikumsliebling Ljubiša Samardžić an der Seite von Merab Ninidze sowie österreichischen Schauspielstars dieser Zeit wie Wolf Bachofner und Eva Mattes spielte und der den Jugoslawienkrieg aus der Perspektive der Wiener Diaspora schildert. Ein Jahr später tritt Rebić in Florian Flickers Spielfilm Suzie Washington (AT 1998) als Schauspieler in Erscheinung. Mit Flicker – genauso wie mit Michael Glawogger – verbindet ihn eine jahrelange Arbeitsfreundschaft. Für The Punishment (AT 2000), in dem Protagonist*innen einer verlorenen Generation im kosmopolitischen Belgrad zu Wort kommen, erhält Goran Rebić 2000 den Großen Diagonale-Preis. Unweigerlich fühlt man sich bei der Lektüre des Kinodokumentarfilms an unsere Gegenwart erinnert – politische Vergleiche, wie Rebić einmahnt, die nur dann brauchbar sind, wenn sie präzise und geschichtsbewusst angestellt werden.

Donau, Duna, Dunaj, Dunav, Dunarea, Goran Rebić © Lotus Film

Im Programm Zur Person zu sehen ist außerdem der Kurzdokumentarfilm Domovina (AT 1990). Er geht auf ein serbisches Volkslied aus der Zeit der Balkankriege von 1912 bis 1914 zurück und erzählt von Einwander*innen, die von der Hymne ihrer Heimat verfolgt werden: „Eine musikalische Winterreise an die serbisch-rumänische Grenze, als dort unerwartet alles anders zu werden begann“, wie der ehemalige Diagonale-Festivalleiter und nunmehrige Produzent Constantin Wulff, dessen Film Spaziergang nach Syrakus (R: Constantin Wulff, Lutz Leonhardt, AT 1993) Rebić montierte, einmal bemerkte. 2003, in dem Jahr als Graz Kulturhauptstadt war, beschäftigte sich Goran Rebić in seinem Roadmovie zu Wasser Donau, Duna, Dunaj, Dunav, Dunarea (AT 2003) erneut mit einem seiner Hauptthemen: dem Donauraum. Der märchenhafte Spielfilm mit Robert Stadlober, Sonja Savić – eine Ikone des jugoslawischen Films –, Ioana Flora, Susanne Wuest, Annabelle Mandeng, Andreas Lust und Otto Sander wird anlässlich der Diagonale’23 nach 2004 abermals beim Festival an der Mur anlanden.

Domovina, Goran Rebić © sixpackfilm

In Referenz zu seinem Œuvre zeigt Rebić zudem den 1985 in Cannes und später auch mit dem César für das beste Erstlingswerk ausgezeichneten Spielfilm Le Thé au harem d’Archimède (FR 1985), für den der Fabrikarbeiter Mehdi Charef seinen eigenen Roman rund um das arabische Jugendmilieu der Pariser Banlieus adaptierte. Mit Blick auf sein eigenes Portfolio beleuchtet Goran Rebić im Werkstattgespräch „Ich bin Geschichte – Filmen zwischen den Zeiten“ außerdem die (Nicht-)Realisierbarkeit mancher seiner Projekte in Österreich. Seine persönliche musikalische Sozialisierung und das Zusammenspiel von Emotion, Bild und Ton stehen unterdes in einer Listening Session im Rahmen des Festivals im Fokus. Ein umfangreicher Essay von Otto Reiter zur Reihe Zur Person: Goran Rebić erscheint im Diagonale’23-Katalog (Czernin Verlag).

Goran Rebić wurde 1968 in Vršac in der Vojvodina im ehemaligen Jugoslawien geboren. 1969 migrierte er mit seinen Eltern nach Wien, wo er später Regie an der Hochschule für Musik und darstellende Kunst (Filmakademie) studierte.