Diagonale
Festival of Austrian Film
April 5–10, 2022, Graz

 

In Reference

Canale Grande, Friederike Pezold © Filmarchiv Austria

In Reference: Ayub, Pezold, Haneke, and more

With the In Reference series, the Diagonale interlaces, mediates, and expands emphases of its current festival program. In reference to this year’s film competition, the Diagonale’22 will show early works by Friederike Pezold and Kurdwin Ayub: Two films from each artist will supplement their recent works Revolution der Augen (D: Friederike Pezold, AT 2022) and the opening film SONNE (D: Kurdwin Ayub, AT 2022). Viewers are thereby invited to become acquainted with or rediscover two extraordinary positions in Austrian film production. For the eightieth birthday of the multiple prize-winning director and scriptwriter Michael Haneke, the format will also present the psychological thriller Funny Games in the Austrian (AT 1997) and – almost identical – American (US 2007) versions.

The In Reference series can be seen between April 6 and 10 at the 25th Diagonale in Graz. With the Austrian premiere of Paul Poet’s prominently cast Schlingensief portrait miniature ATTABAMBI SCHEISSMICHAN (AT/DE 2020) it additionally also leads into the historical special RAUSCH, from the anniversary of the Thomas Pluch Screenwriting Prize via the cinema to Dorf an der Grenze (D: Fritz Lehner, AT 1979) and with Johann Lurf from the screen into the firmament. In conjunction with the exhibition of the Golden Pixel Cooperative at Kunsthaus Graz and the solo exhibition of the British filmmaker and feminist Sandra Lahire at the Grazer Kunstverein, the Festival of Austrian Film also shows the film program “In Resonance: The Golden Pixel Cooperative and Sandra Lahire”, in which works by the Diagonale’22 trailer artists from The Golden Pixel Cooperative meet the experimental film Terminals (D: Sandra Lahire, UK 1986) in the cinema. Last week, the Diagonale already had the pleasure of presenting this year’s festival trailer by The Golden Pixel Cooperative, which from now on will function as the calling card pointing the way to the Diagonale’22.

In Reference film program
— Funny Games (D: Michael Haneke, AT 1997)
— Funny Games U.S. (D: Michael Haneke, US 2007)
— Toilette (D: Friederike Pezold, AT 1979)
— Canale Grande (D: Friederike Pezold, AT 1983)
— Boomerang (D: Kurdwin Ayub, AT 2018)
— Paradies! Paradies! (D: Kurdwin Ayub, AT 2016)
— ATTABAMBI SCHEISSMICHAN (D: Paul Poet, AT/DE 2021)
— Das Dorf an der Grenze: Teil 1 – Kärnten 1920–1945 (D: Fritz Lehner, AT 1979)
— ★ (D: Lurf, AT 2022)
— Double 8 (D: Christiana Perschon, AT 2016)
— distortion (D: Lydia Nsiah, AT 2016)
— Terminals (D: Sandra Lahire, UK 1986)
— Liquid Ground (D: Enar de Dios Rodríguez, AT/ES 2021)

Toilette, Friederike Pezold © Filmarchiv Austria

Friederike Pezold: Toilette, Canale Grande, Revolution der Augen

Since the late 1960s, Friederike Pezold has acted at the interface of film, video, and media art to counter “the major crap that is shit into our hearts and minds day after day”. Her oeuvre shapes itself as a universe rife with desire and visual fantasy bristling with resistance. The Diagonale’22 will be showing three films that according to Pezold are intended for posterity: Toilette (AT 1979), Canale Grande (AT 1983), and Revolution der Augen. While the first two works celebrated their premiere in the Forum section of the Berlinale, the world premiere of Revolution der Augen can be viewed in the Diagonale’s competition program. In the merger of these films, humor, brashness, and the factors of time and duration step to the forefront. Pezold’s cinema is mercilessly uneconomical. Perhaps that is also the reason it is one of the most well-kept treasures of Austrian film history – rarely shown and not available on the internet or on home media.

Despite worldwide festival and exhibition invitations – from MoMA New York to the Centre Pompidou Paris, from the Berlinale to documenta and Biennale – Pezold, a radically independent artist, refuses to engage in climbing the art world’s ladder of fame. Her search for alternative forms of presentation is key for a type of expression that was already laid out in Canale Grande: In the film, she sets out to dismantle a subway surveillance camera in order to produce “closevision” for her Radio Free Utopia show, which she subsequently broadcasts by means of a wearable television on her own body in front of the viewers. Independence is the trump card!

Paradies! Paradies!, Kurdwin Ayub © sixpackfilm

The program for Kurdwin Ayub is likewise based on the film competition: The short feature Boomerang and the documentary Paradies! Paradies! – shown in reference to the Diagonale’22 opening film SONNE – offer the chance to become better acquainted with the filmmaker’s versatility. In both films – just like in SONNE, which was recently honored with the GWFF Best First Feature Award at the Berlinale – Ayub’s father is seen in crucial roles.

 

Paul Poet meets Schlingensief and Glawogger

The famous German director Christoph Schlingensief, who died in 2010 and was honored the following year with the Golden Lion at the Venice Biennale, was on the brink of moving from underground to unruly state artist in 2003. When staging Elfriede Jelinek’s “Bambiland” at the Burgtheater in Vienna and the Schauspielhaus in Zurich, he went beyond his personal limits. In ATTABAMBI SCHEISSMICHAN, Paul Poet compiles a provocative tribute from fragments of a film documentary that fell through at the time – an intoxicating portrait miniature. The Diagonale’22 shows Poet’s short film with Udo Kier, Julia Stemberger, Peter Kern, and others in reference to the historical special RAUSCH and before Michael Glawogger’s exceptional film Nacktschnecken (AT 2004).

 

30 years Thomas Pluch Screenwriting Prize

On the thirtieth anniversary of the death of scriptwriter Thomas Pluch and thus also the thirtieth anniversary of the Thomas Pluch Screenwriting Prize, the Diagonale’22 together with the Drehbuchverband Austria will show the first part of the ORF miniseries Das Dorf an der Grenze, written by Thomas Pluch. In the series, the story of the fictive yet utterly typical village of Selice from the end of World War I until 1976 functions as a model for nationalistic and other group dynamics. With an introduction by Bert Rebhandl.

 

Funny Games U.S., Michael Haneke © X Verleih

Haneke, two birthday films

Supplementing the extensive birthday celebrations at the Austrian Film Museum in Vienna (retrospective from March 4 to May 2, 2022) and the museum’s collaboration with the Vienna Musikverein (“Musikverein Perspektiven: Michael Haneke” from March 24 to 27, 2022), the Diagonale in Graz is showing two works by Haneke in a unique double feature: In the Austrian psychological thriller Funny Games from 1997, Ulrich Mühe and Susanne Lothar play the main roles. The film celebrated its premiere at the International Film Festival Cannes in 1997, where it polarized audiences and critics. In 2007, Haneke filmed the U.S. remake under the title Funny Games U.S. with Tim Roth and Naomi Watts. The content of the two films is identical, take for take. Anna and Georg travel with their son Schorschi to a summer cottage on a lake. While Anna prepares dinner, a young man amiably asks for a few eggs. From that moment, Peter and Paul force their way into the family’s weekend home and sadistically torture them to death. Haneke reproduced his first version scene by scene. He explicitly guaranteed the criteria “Final cut” and “Shot-by-shot remake” by contract. Even when the production firm tried to launch Marilyn Manson for the soundtrack rather than John Zorn, as they felt that he would benefit the marketing, Haneke referred to this clause. He had the last word. Final cut.

Diagonale
Festival des österreichischen Films
21.–26. März 2023, Graz

 

In Referenz

Canale Grande, Friederike Pezold © Filmarchiv Austria

In Referenz: Ayub, Pezold, Haneke und mehr …

Mit der Reihe In Referenz verschränkt, vermittelt und erweitert die Diagonale Schwerpunkte rund um ihr aktuelles Festivalprogramm: In Referenz zum heurigen Filmwettbewerb zeigt die Diagonale’22 Frühwerke von Friederike Pezold und Kurdwin Ayub: Jeweils zwei Filme ergänzen die aktuellen Arbeiten Revolution der Augen (R: Friederike Pezold, AT 2022) sowie den Eröffnungsfilm SONNE (R: Kurdwin Ayub, AT 2022) und bieten somit die Gelegenheit, zwei außergewöhnliche Positionen im heimischen Filmschaffen kennenzulernen oder wiederzuentdecken. Zum achtzigsten Geburtstag des vielfach preisgekrönten Regisseurs und Drehbuchautors Michael Haneke präsentiert das Format 2022 außerdem den Psychothriller Funny Games in österreichischer (AT 1997) und – praktisch baugleicher – amerikanischer (US 2007) Version.

Die Reihe In Referenz ist zwischen 6. und 10. April bei der 25. Diagonale in Graz zu sehen und führt mit der Österreichpremiere von Paul Poets prominent besetzter Schlingensief-Porträtminiatur ATTABAMBI SCHEISSMICHAN (AT/DE 2020) außerdem auch ins historische Special RAUSCH, vom Jubiläum des Thomas Pluch Drehbuchpreises übers Kino zum Dorf an der Grenze (R: Fritz Lehner, AT 1979) und mit Johann Lurf über die Leinwand ins Firmament. Anknüpfend an die Ausstellung der Golden Pixel Cooperative im Kunsthaus Graz und der Einzelausstellung der britischen Filmemacherin und Feministin Sandra Lahire im Grazer Kunstverein zeigt das Festival des österreichischen Films zudem das Filmprogramm „In Resonance: The Golden Pixel Cooperative & Sandra Lahire“, in dem Arbeiten der Diagonale’22-Trailerkünstlerinnen von The Golden Pixel Cooperative im Kino auf den Experimentalfilm Terminals (R: Sandra Lahire, UK 1986) treffen. Bereits Anfang dieser Woche durfte die Diagonale den diesjährigen – von The Golden Pixel Cooperative gestalteten – Festivaltrailer vorstellen, der ab nun als Visitenkarte den Weg zur Diagonale’22 weist.

Filmprogramm In Referenz
— Funny Games (R: Michael Haneke, AT 1997)
— Funny Games U.S. (R: Michael Haneke, US 2007)
— Toilette (R: Friederike Pezold, AT 1979)
— Canale Grande (R: Friederike Pezold, AT 1983)
— Boomerang (R: Kurdwin Ayub, AT 2018)
— Paradies! Paradies! (R: Kurdwin Ayub, AT 2016)
— ATTABAMBI SCHEISSMICHAN (R: Paul Poet, AT/DE 2021)
— Das Dorf an der Grenze: Teil 1 – Kärnten 1920–1945 (R: Fritz Lehner, AT 1979)
★ (R: Lurf, AT 2022)
— Double 8 (R: Christiana Perschon, AT 2016)
— distortion (R: Lydia Nsiah, AT 2016)
— Terminals (R: Sandra Lahire, UK 1986)
— Liquid Ground (R: Enar de Dios Rodríguez, AT/ES 2021)

Toilette, Friederike Pezold © Filmarchiv Austria

Friederike Pezold: Toilette, Canale Grande, Revolution der Augen

An der Schnittstelle von bildender, Film-, Video- und Medienkunst agiert Friederike Pezold seit den späten 1960er-Jahren gegen „den großen Scheiß, der einem tagtäglich in Hirn und Herz geschissen wird“. Ihr Œuvre gestaltet sich als ein Universum voller Sehnsucht wie Bildfantasie und strotzt vor Widerständigkeit. Die Diagonale’22 zeigt jene drei Filme, die laut Pezold für die Nachwelt bestimmt sind: Toilette (AT 1979), Canale Grande (AT 1983) sowie Revolution der Augen. Während die ersten beiden Arbeiten ihre Premiere einst in der Sektion Forum der Berlinale feierten, ist Revolution der Augen nun als Uraufführung im Wettbewerbsprogramm der Diagonale zu sehen. In der Zusammenführung treten Humor, Frechheit und die Faktoren Zeit und Dauer in den Vordergrund. Pezolds Kino ist gnadenlos unökonomisch. Vielleicht ist es auch gerade deshalb einer der bestgehüteten Schätze der österreichischen Filmgeschichte – kaum gezeigt und weder im Netz noch auf Heimdatenträger verfügbar.

Trotz weltweiter Festival- und Ausstellungseinladungen – vom MoMA New York bis zum Centre Pompidou Paris, von Berlinale bis documenta und Biennale – verweigert die radikal unabhängige Künstlerin das Repräsentationsklimbim der Kunstwelt. Ihre Suche nach alternativen Präsentationsformen ist Kern eines Ausdrucks, der schon in Canale Grande angelegt ist: Im Film setzt sie zur Demontage einer U-Bahn-Überwachungskamera an, um in den eigenen vier Wänden für ihr Radio Freies Utopia Formate des „Nahsehens“ zu produzieren, die sie in Folge mittels eines tragbaren Televisionsgerätes am eigenen Körper vor den Zuseher*innen ausstrahlt. Unabhängigkeit ist Trumpf!

Paradies! Paradies!, Kurdwin Ayub © sixpackfilm

Ebenfalls an den Filmwettbewerb lehnt sich das Programm zu Kurdwin Ayub an: Der Kurzspielfilm Boomerang und der Dokumentarfilm Paradies! Paradies! – gezeigt in Referenz zum Diagonale’22-Eröffnungsfilm SONNE – bieten die Gelegenheit, die Vielseitigkeit der Filmemacherin näher kennenzulernen. In beiden Filmen – genauso wie im kürzlich mit dem GWFF Preis Bester Erstlingsfilm der Berlinale ausgezeichneten SONNE – ist Ayubs Vater in Schlüsselrollen zu sehen.

 

Paul Poet trifft Schlingensief und Glawogger

Der berühmte deutsche Regisseur Christoph Schlingensief, 2010 gestorben und ein Jahr später mit dem Goldenen Löwen der Biennale di Venezia geehrt, steht 2003 an der Kippe vom Underground Artist zum widerborstigen Staatskünstler. Als er Elfriede Jelineks „Bambiland“ am Burgtheater Wien und am Schauspielhaus Zürich inszeniert, geht er über seine persönliche Grenze. In ATTABAMBI SCHEISSMICHAN hat Paul Poet aus Fragmenten einer damals geplatzten Kinodoku einen provokanten Tribut montiert – eine rauschhafte Porträtminiatur. Die Diagonale’22 zeigt Poets Kurzfilm mit Udo Kier, Julia Stemberger, Peter Kern und anderen mehr in Referenz zum historischen Special RAUSCH und vor Michael Glawoggers Ausnahmefilm Nacktschnecken (AT 2004).

 

30 Jahre Thomas Pluch Drehbuchpreis

Anlässlich der dreißigsten Wiederkehr des Todestags von Drehbuchautor Thomas Pluch und somit des dreißigjährigen Jubiläums des Thomas Pluch Drehbuchpreises zeigt die Diagonale’22 gemeinsam mit dem Drehbuchverband Austria den ersten Teil der ORF-Miniserie Das Dorf an der Grenze, für die Thomas Pluch als Autor verantwortlich zeichnete. Darin wird die Geschichte des fiktiven, aber äußerst typisch dargestellten Dorfes Selice vom Ende des Ersten Weltkriegs bis in das Jahr 1976 zu einem Modell für nationalistische und andere Gruppendynamiken erhoben. Mit einer Einführung von Bert Rebhandl.

 

Funny Games U.S., Michael Haneke © X Verleih

Haneke, zwei Filme zum Geburtstag

Ergänzend zu den umfangreichen Geburtstagsfeierlichkeiten des Filmmuseum Wien (Retrospektive vom 4. März bis 2. Mai 2022) und dessen Kooperation mit dem Wiener Musikverein („Musikverein Perspektiven: Michael Haneke“ vom 24. bis 27. März 2022) zeigt die Diagonale in Graz zwei Werke von Haneke im einzigartigen Doppel: Im österreichischen Psychothriller Funny Games aus dem Jahr 1997 spielen Ulrich Mühe und Susanne Lothar die Hauptrollen. Der Film feierte seine Premiere bei den Internationalen Filmfestspielen von Cannes 1997, wo er Publikum und Kritik polarisierte. 2007 drehte Haneke das US-Remake mit dem Titel Funny Games U.S. mit Tim Roth und Naomi Watts. Der Inhalt beider Filme ist Einstellung für Einstellung identisch: Anna und Georg fahren mit Sohn Schorschi in ein Sommerhaus am See. Während Anna das Abendessen bereitet, fragt ein junger Mann freundlich nach ein paar Eiern. Ab diesem Zeitpunkt dringen Peter und Paul in das Wochenenddomizil der Familie ein und quälen sie auf sadistische Weise zu Tode. Haneke stellte seine Erstversion Szene für Szene nach. Er hatte sich vertraglich ausdrücklich die Kriterien „Final Cut“ und „Shot-by-Shot-Remake“ zusichern lassen. Selbst als die Produktionsfirma den aus ihrer Sicht besser zu vermarktenden Marilyn Manson anstelle von John Zorn für den Soundtrack zu lancieren suchte, berief sich Haneke auf diese Klausel. Das letzte Wort war gesprochen. Final Cut.