Diagonale
Diagonale
Diagonale

| Film History | The First Shift |

The Diagonale is pleased to announce the first program in its Film History series, along with some of the films that have already been confirmed. Under the title The First Shift – 60 Years of Labor Migration as Seen from the Countries of Origin, the festival is devoting eight programs to the still highly political issue of labor migration. However, this is being done predominantly from a reversed perspective: the focus is not on the view from Austria, Germany, and Switzerland of the migrant workers who have come to us, but rather mostly the positions of filmmakers from the home countries. It has been 60 years since the first “guest workers” arrived here, returned, and then came back. What was originally intended to be temporary work developed into a permanent situation. However, the hardships experienced in the new environment were hushed up at the political level, and many problems persist to this day.

The First Shift offers a change of perspective on a seemingly “familiar” environment, with a selection of films such as these:

Halo, München / Hello Munich (1967) and Specijalni vlakovi / The Special Trains (1971), both by Krsto Papić, are about setting off for Germany and Austria and returning home, as well as the resulting contradictory life situations in both places. Kara Kafa / Black Head (1979) by Korhan Yurtsever describes the ordeal and its effects in the fabric of an immigrant family. The new life in Germany offers theoretically unlimited possibilities, but these also entail unexpected pitfalls – as, for example, when the mother of the family begins to get involved in the women’s movement. The film was banned by the Turkish censorship authority at the time and all copies were confiscated. Only recently did the original negatives surface, on the basis of which Kara Kafa could be restored.

Filmstill from Kara Kafa © Korhan Yurtsever

 

Inventur – Metzstraße 11 (1975) by Želimir Žilnik was shot in the stairwell of a Munich apartment building. Žilnik, who himself went to Germany as a worker at that time, transforms this place of passage into the site of brief but meaningful encounters. In front of the camera, the residents of the house talk about their origins as well as their wishes, hopes, and worries. Analphabeten in zwei Sprachen (Illiterates in Two Languages) (1975) by the German-Iranian filmmaker Mehrangis Montazami-Dabui, like most of the films in the program, is still alarmingly relevant: the short documentary sheds light on the problems that children from a migrant background have in school, which in turn are also closely linked to the difficulties in finding their way between two cultures and finding their place. In Wo sein Wäsche (Where Is Laundry) (1975) by Dieter Berner, which was created as part of the ORF series Stories from Austria, a Yugoslavian couple learns the sometimes Kafkaesque ways of Austrian bureaucracy: Ms. Stankovic has given birth to her child at home without medical assistance, and now none of the official documents exist that are needed to get the urgently needed baby laundry pack. In the narrow-minded officials’ offices, the baby alone is not sufficient proof that it actually exists – and needs clean diapers.

The program is curated by Petra Popovic, Dominik Kamalzadeh, and Claudia Slanar in cooperation with the ORF and Jurij Meden (of the Austrian Film Museum). Diagonale would like to thank Faime Alpagu, Fatih Aydoğdu, and Can Sungu for their support.

Consent Management Platform by Real Cookie Banner

Diagonale
Diagonale
Diagonale

| Filmgeschichte | Die erste Schicht |

Die Diagonale freut sich, das erste Programm der neuen Reihe Filmgeschichte samt einiger bereits fixierter Filme ankündigen zu dürfen: Unter dem Titel Die erste Schicht – 60 Jahre Arbeitsmigration aus Sicht der Herkunftsländer widmet sich das Festival in acht Programmen dem nach wie vor hochpolitischen Thema der Arbeitsmigration. Allerdings aus einer vorwiegend umgekehrten Perspektive: Nicht der Blick aus Österreich, Deutschland und der Schweiz auf die hierher gekommenen Arbeitsnomad:innen steht im Mittelpunkt, in den meisten Werken sind es die Positionen von Filmemacher:innen aus den Herkunftsländern selbst. 60 Jahre ist es her, dass die ersten “Gastarbeiter:innen” herkamen, zurückkehrten und wieder kamen. Eine ursprünglich anvisierte Zeitarbeit entwickelt sich zum Permanent-Zustand. Die Notlage im neuen Umfeld wurde jedoch politisch totgeschwiegen und viele Probleme dauern bis heute an.

Die erste Schicht bietet einen Blickwechsel auf ein scheinbar “vertrautes” Milieu, hier eine Auswahl der Filme:

Halo, München / Hallo München (1967) und Specijalni vlakovi / Sonderzüge (1971), beide von Krsto Papić, handeln vom Aufbrechen nach Deutschland und Österreich und vom Zurückkehren in die Heimat sowie den sich daraus ergebenden widersprüchlichen Lebenssituationen an beiden Orten. Kara Kafa / Schwarzkopf (1979) von Korhan Yurtsever schildert die Zerreißprobe im Gefüge einer Einwandererfamilie: Das neue Leben in Deutschland hat theoretisch unbegrenzte Möglichkeiten zu bieten, diese bestehen aber auch aus nicht erwarteten Tücken — so beginnt die Mutter der Familie, sich in der Frauenbewegung zu engagieren. Der Film wurde damals von der türkischen Zensurbehörde verboten und alle Kopien einkassiert. Erst kürzlich sind die Originalnegative aufgetaucht, auf deren Grundlage Kara Kafa restauriert werden konnte.

 

Filmstill aus Kara Kafa © Korhan Yurtsever

 

Inventur – Metzstraße 11 (1975) von Želimir Žilnik entstand im Treppenhaus eines Münchner Wohnhauses — dieser Ort des Durchgehens wird von Žilnik, der selbst damals als Arbeiter kam, zu einem Ort der kurzen aber eindrücklichen Begegnungen transformiert: Vor der Kamera sprechen die Bewohner:innen des Hauses über ihre Herkunft als auch ihre Wünsche, Hoffnungen und Sorgen. Wie die meisten Filme aus dem Programm hat auch Analphabeten in zwei Sprachen (1975) von der deutsch-iranischen Filmemacherin Mehrangis Montazami-Dabui nach wie vor erschreckende Aktualität: In dem Kurzdokumentarfilm werden die schulischen Probleme von Kindern mit Migrationshintergrund beleuchtet, die auch eng an die Schwierigkeiten, sich zwischen zwei Kulturen zurechtzufinden und den eigenen Platz zu finden, geknüpft sind. Die teils kafkaesken Wege der österreichischen Bürokratie lernt ein jugoslawisches Ehepaar in Wo sein Wäsche (1975) von Dieter Berner kennen, der damals im Rahmen der ORF-Sendereihe Geschichten aus Österreich entstanden ist: Frau Stankovic hat ohne ärztlichen Beistand zuhause ihr Kind zur Welt gebracht, nun fehlen alle offiziellen Belege, um das dringend benötigte Wäschepaket zu bekommen. Denn das Baby allein reicht als Beweis dafür, dass es tatsächlich existiert und Wäsche benötigt, in den bornierten Amtsstuben nicht aus …

Kuratiert wird das Programm von Petra Popovic, Dominik Kamalzadeh und Claudia Slanar in Kooperation mit dem ORF und Jurij Meden (Österreichisches Filmmuseum). Die Diagonale dankt Faime Alpagu, Fatih Aydoğdu und Can Sungu für die Unterstützung.

 

Consent Management Platform von Real Cookie Banner