Saturday April 6, 2024
11.30 a.m.
Diagonale Forum
at the Heimatsaal

With the support of the Federal Ministry for Arts, Culture, the Civil Service and Sport, the Austrian Television Fund, the Filmcommission Graz and dok.at.

The award was initiated by the Grabner family, AAFP, Film Austria, ORF and the Diagonale in memory of ORF journalist Franz Grabner (1955-2015). The award recognises an ethically and morally responsible and credible approach by filmmakers to their medium.

Previous Winners

Franz Grabner Prize 2024

On behalf of the Franz-Grabner-Board, Diagonale is pleased to announce the winners of the Franz-Grabner-Award 2024.

Awarded in the television documentary film category:
Alex Wieser for Eugenie Schwarzwald – Pionierin der Moderne

Excerpt from the jury statement:<
“The award-winning film is a lovingly crafted portrait of an extraordinary woman who was not only particularly clever, full of integrity and visionary, but also inspired by the idea of making a difference. The film is based on in-depth research into its protagonist and the socio-political implications of her work and is formally characterised by solid and coherent craftsmanship with a keen eye for detail at all levels.”

Also nominated in this category were Eine Gesellschaft ohne Arbeiter by Heidi Neuburger-Dumancic and Flash Wars – KI im Krieg by Daniel Andrew Wunderer.

Awarded in the cinema documentary category:
Günter Schwaiger for Wer hat Angst vor Braunau? Ein Haus und die Vergangenheit in uns

Excerpt from the jury statement:
“A film that takes a very personal look at what home is actually like. It is a milieu study of a special place, lets many people have their say, shows observations that sometimes seem like real satire. It tells of repression and speechlessness, and of a lack of confrontation with one’s own history. The cinematic narrative achieves its strength here, especially towards the end; the film places things in relation to each other so that the core of a horror becomes all the clearer on the one hand, but on the other hand sometimes creeps in at the back and settles with the viewer. A horror about the past and what has happened.”

Also nominated in this category were … ned, tassot, yossot . .. by Brigitte Weich and Stillstand by Nikolaus Geyrhalter

The Franz Grabner Prize was awarded at a ceremony during Diagonale ’24 in the categories cinema documentary and television documentary and is endowed with € 5,000 each – donated by AAFP and ORF. The prize money is earmarked for the development of the award winners’ follow-up project. Journalist and author Solmaz Khorsand gave the keynote speech.

The 2024 jury consists of Karin Berghammer (filmmaker), Olga Kosanović (filmmaker) and Martin Kowalczyk (film editor, Bayerischer Rundfunk).


Consent Management Platform by Real Cookie Banner